Tuesday, 17 September 2019

Review of "Angles or Angles" by David Stokes

In what now is Northumbria in the north of England in 6th century Britain there were two kingdoms: Deira ruled by old king Aele and Bernicia ruled by the young king Æthelfrith. The Romans have left the island two centuries ago and in Deira people do not even remember them and think that the big stone buildings in York are build by giants. Building houses in stone and writing, it is all forgotten. Those areas are populated by immigrants from north Germany called the Angles.

In the West and the North the old British kingdoms and the Picts still prevail with some help from their Gaul cousins in Ireland.  Bernicia an Deira are rivals but with the old British kingdoms in Scotland and Wales as enemies who want to overthrow them the two kingdoms must unite. Acha, daughter of one king is chosen to act as ‘peace-weaver’ by marrying the rival leader. But before she can do so Æthelfrith marries a princess from the North who is part Pictish.

I really liked the book. The story is well written and seen from either Acha's, Æthelfrith's or brother Edwin's point of view and we learn a lot of daily life in those days. It is obviously a very well researched novel and at the end the writer takes time to explain what is historically correct to the letter and what parts were invented.

There is one mistake though. Frisia were not island off the coast of Holland. Frisia was and in some extend still is the northern parts of The Netherlands and Germany. Holland was the enemy!









Review of "King of Kings" by Wilbur Smith - the forming of Ethiopia and the Italian colony Eritrea just after the Mahdi rebellion in Sudan

Wilbur Smith is Africa and explorers to me. I have read many of his books when I was young. So was happy to discover he is still alive and writing new ones.

This one is situated in Cairo and the hills of Ethiopia on the border with what now is Eritrea I think. As I am teaching Dutch to ladies from Eritrea I had an extra investment in getting to know a bit more of the history of their country (and to tell them I read the book).

It is like all mr Smith's books an entertaining read. Some of the characters were a bit bland. I mostly liked Penrod the VC recipient who has to redeem himself and find a more caring part of his personality.

I wished I could have read part 1 first though as that would have made the story more a complete tale. Now the sister Rebecca was a bit of an enigma to me.


Review of "House on endless waters" by Emona Elon - Amsterdam Jews during the war

In this novel Israeli author Yoel Blum revisits the town of his birth Amsterdam. When a foreign author writes about your own country that can be tricky as every mistake in research will reveal itself. But this novel is at first a "feast of recognition" as we say in Dutch: the strict border patrol (I am an immigration lawyer and many client complain exactly like Yoel does), the street musicians playing under the arch of the Rijksmuseum, the tall houses divided in apartments along the canals, the hotels with all the tourist trinkets and all the bits of facts and history about Amsterdam and The Netherlands. But the story takes a turn to the serious side soon after.

While visiting the Museum of Jewish History Yoel discovers a video showing his parents with his sister and a till then it seems unknown brother. Back in Israel he calls his sister (both his parents are dead) and asks her about that boy. She tells him the story but we are not told what the story is.

Yoel decides to return to Amsterdam to fill in the blanks. We see him wander the city and write the story of his mother using elements of what he sees or does himself that day. Like when he is drawn to a painting in the Rijksmuseum he wonders why and incorperates that painting by hanging it in the house of his mother's upstairs neighbours.

In the meantime we get to know his mother better by reading the story he tells about her. She was married to a doctor from the Jewish hospital in Amsterdam and leading a happy life with him and their two small children and his best friend and his wife and child who were their upstairs neighbours thinking the war will soon end. But we see dark clouds packing on the horizon and bit by bit the life of the Jewish people in Amsterdam gets more and more dangerous. As a Dutch person I am quite familiar with that history but still it is unnerving to feel the noose tightening.

I was glued to my kindle wanting to know what did happen with little Leo. I had quite a suspicion but still.

But when you then have finished the book it still resonates. So I called my dad who is as old as Yoel Blum and also was a child during the war and studied psychology to become a teacher. The author explains in the book that many of the children that were hidden away from the Germans suffered from attachment problems after the war. When I was that age my mum got severely ill and I was fostered out to different aunties and even I notice how that effected me. Can you imagine an even worse situation during the war? The author in my opinion also describes the effect this all has on Yoel's mother. While she was a happy go lucky woman with friends in Holland later on in Israel she does not want friends. First I thought that was to keep her secret but I realised it was the aftershock of the way she was betrayed.

At the end of the story Tal, Yoel's grandson, says that Yoel's mum acted out of revenge. I think that is not true. I think she kept the secret out of love as it is obvious how much she loved him. Hints to that are all the Madonna sculptures in the museum.

Another layer in the book is how it shows us the live of a writer and how personal adventures end up in novels. How a novel is created. How a famous writer is approached by total strangers. I think that part must be based on the author's own life.

I think it was quite courageous to pick the topic of collaboration by the own Jewish community with the Nazies. I also liked that the Dutch non-Jewish community is shown realistic: some friends from school who become a policeman driving Jews from a park, others dying to save their Jewish fellow Dutch. No black and white cliches.

There is just one point of criticism and that is a case of "lost in translation" from Dutch to Ivriet to English. The word that was used for hiding for the Germans was "onderduiken ( a verb)" and it is translated as "dive (a noon)". Diving IN for instance water is duiken IN in Dutch. But when you want to hide under the blankets, want to pick something from under your desk you use in Dutch duiken ONDER (diving under). That is translated as hiding in or under and not as "Go diving" or "do a dive" I think. As far as I know I have never heard in Dutch the term Duik for the verb Onderduiken. But I am from years after the war.

It does not happen that often but in this case the Dutch translating is already published while we are reviewing the English one.


I am not sure what the title stands for. In the book a synagoge is described as built over water; Yoel's mother uses the proverb "Water under the bridge" often and I think in the Bible it is said that God's spirit was over the waters.



FREE BOOK: Sounds interesting and set in an alternate modern Russia surrounded by the still-powerful Ottoman Empire and the Chinese Empire of the Sun,

In an alternate modern Russia surrounded by the still-powerful Ottoman Empire and the Chinese Empire of the Sun, a dead girl in a pink sweater draws disillusioned Detektiv Alexander Kazakov into an investigation that even the girl’s mother wants him to abandon.

Driven by the truth and a slowly rising body count, Kazakov must traverse a landscape of snow and brothels, and a civilization frozen by history to catch a killer no one suspects.

After Yekaterina is the first in the Yekaterina Alternate History series set in the fictional Central Asian Country of Fergana.







Friday, 30 August 2019

Review of "Angel" by Susan Kinsey - mommy joins the mob

A recently divorce mother of end thirties saves a small girl from drowning. Her father turns out to "be connected". He tells her he will always help her because of that. She ends up working for him.

The story is like a series about the world of criminals although the criminal activities are vague sometimes.
You are never told what is really going on in their heads.

I had expected more of a romance novel.
Reviewed for Netgalley: 3 stars out of 5








Monday, 19 August 2019

Review of "In darkest days may blossom" by Leila Snow - injustice for the poor in 18th century London

In late 18th century England there was not much justice when you were a poor woman and that brings the author to light very well. It is a sad situation. She also shows the class differences and the struggle people have to live through. Being a Scotsman makes you frowned upon, being rich but heaven forbids had merchant parents keeps you out of the top circles, being poor have you committed to a workhouse and when employers are cruel there is no one to turn to.

The knight in shining armour is a the son of the magistrate who sees his father's constables about to beat a girl to death and steps in to save her.

There was two things I had doubts over: in those days and age you would not contemplate marrying someone so far below your social station. Maybe the idea that he really loved her and she him and the possibility to marry could have come up at the end.

The other thing is that I had the feeling the book ended a bit too soon. I think the writer wants to continue from the viewpoint of the other protagonists but I always think it is better to write a tome including the whole story. Hence the 1 star deduction.

Do not think you buy a sweet romance book this is more Dickens doom and gloom. But it had me spellbound (lawyer so I was interested in the whole misconduct of justice).


PS the vows are silly! No one would mention orgasms in that day and ages let alone in church!!!!

Do you want an emailsibscription to this blog?

Just put in your email and keep an eagle eye out for the email to confirm as it might land in your spambox.



Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

Saturday, 17 August 2019

Review of "In the Far Pashmina Mountains" - Raj India and the British Afghan war set in a historical novel

A highborn lady who is on the run to meet her lover leaves her baby behind. The child is raised by the poor family of the lighthousekeeper. She saves people when their ship has hit a nearby rock and one of the survivors will play an important part in her life. When she is a grown woman she joins her husband in India and ends up in the middle of the First Anglo-Afghan war. It was the first time in history the British conquered Kabul but it ended in a total disaster,

The lighthousekeeper's daughter part I did recognise as the real life story it was indeed inspired by but the Afghan disaster was new to me. It just made me realise that in our lifetime we made the same mistakes there.

I read that the author has been to India herself and that her ancestors were posted there. It is clear she did a lot of research in the subject. 

The book makes a very interesting read because although it is a historical novel it still keeps pretty close to the historical facts and you really hope the best for the heroine.

This was the real lighthousekeeper's daughter who saved the people who were shipwrecked: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grace_Darling


















More about the Anglo Afghan war here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Anglo-Afghan_War















William Brydon CB (10 October 1811 – 20 March 1873) was an assistant surgeon in the British East India Company Army during the First Anglo-Afghan War, famous for reportedly being the only member of an army of 4,500 men, plus 12,000 accompanying civilians, to reach safety in Jalalabad at the end of the long retreat from Kabul.








Review of "Tears of the Dragon" by Jean Moran - Hongkong WW2 - Japanese internment

Hongkong WWII: A female young doctor works at the army hospital in Hong Kong. The war makes travel oversees dangerous and in the Chinese hinterland the Japs are fighting the Chinese but so far Hongkong is a peaceful place.

One evening Rowena and nurse Alice take the ferry to Chinese Kowloon to have a drink at a bar they heard rumours of. In the bar they meet the owner, an Irishman who is stationed as a sergeant major in Hongkong and owns the bar together with his best friend and commanding officer major Harry. Connor is a gregarious man who plays the fiddle and sings but refuses to serve drinks to unaccompanied women.

A guest invites them to share a drink with him. He is Kim Pheloung, a rich businessman with Chinese and maybe other genes. Rowena thinks he is the most beautiful man she had ever seen.

In the days that follow she goes out with both of the men. Connor she likes a lot but Kim she is very attracted to.

Then disaster strikes and the Japanese attack Hong Kong and the world changes in a hell full of horror.

I really liked the novel. It can be very bloody and cruel without going into extreme detail. We witness the horrors of war and internment by the Japanese and also the time shortly after the war when victims try to pick up their lives again.

Although not "romantic" I did admire the way the writer dealt with a "fiftyshadesofgrey"-element. Because in real life most people will hate to be forced unlike all those romance novel girls. Because in books that is never depicted so grimly I think it added to the value of the story even if you keep hoping someone is the romantic hero.

What I think is a glitch is the attitude of her brother towards people of mix race because his own grandmother was Indian.

I would advice the publishers to change their blurb on Amazon as it is full of spoilers! I had not read that and that makes the shock factor of the story more intense.

Friday, 16 August 2019

Review of " The Kazak Contract by PAUL PURNELL " - fast action packed story in an exotic location

James Ballantyne, former army officer and now a diplomat and a covert spy, travels to Kazakhstan on a diplomatic assignment. He tells his local aide Ocksana Petrova that the new part of the capital feels like Brasilia the designer capital of Brazil. However officials wanting a bribe is still as old as time. His work almost finished he has a chat with an American in his hotel . This however changes things and James has to flee  the country.

The novel reads like watching a good action movie. The exotic setting of Kazakhstan and neighbouring countries is interesting.I really liked reading it

 It is not a very long novel. And that brings me to the only negative remark: the story ends abruptly and will continue in another novel. I definitely do not like cliffhangers and would recommend to combine those books into one John le Carre tome size one.


Monday, 12 August 2019

Free book: set in Amsterdam

Rituals of the DeadBy Jennifer S. Alderson

 
In Amsterdam, a 60-year-old mystery is revived when museum researcher Zelda uncovers the story of an anthropologist who vanished in New Guinea. And a mysterious killer will stop at nothing to keep her from the truth…    A museum researcher must solve a decades-old murder before she becomes the killer’s next victim in this riveting dual timeline thriller set in Papua and the Netherlands.

Agats, Dutch New Guinea (Papua), 1961: While collecting Asmat artifacts for a New York museum, American anthropologist Nick Mayfield stumbles upon a smuggling ring organized by high-ranking members of the Dutch colonial government and the Catholic Church. Before he can alert the authorities, he vanishes in a mangrove swamp, never to be seen again.

Amsterdam, the Netherlands, 2018: While preparing for an exhibition of Asmat artifacts in a Dutch ethnographic museum, researcher Zelda Richardson finds Nick Mayfield’s journal in a long-forgotten crate. Before Zelda can finish reading the journal, her housemate is brutally murdered and ‘Give back what is not yours’ is scrawled on their living room wall.

Someone wants ancient history to stay that way—and believes murder is the surest way to keep the past buried.

Can she solve a sixty-year-old mystery before decades of deceit, greed, and retribution cost Zelda her life?
  

Saturday, 10 August 2019

Indian Raj : Review of Beneath an Indian Sky: A heartbreaking historical novel of family secrets, betrayal and love by Renita D'Silva

Three young children are friends in 1930ties India: a poor Muslim boy, a rich Hindu girl and an English one. The Indian girl yearns for knowledge and freedom and the English one is given that but too shy to grasp it.

When they grow up one of them will get a great opportunity and grasps it while the other does a leap of faith and looses all. 

While one is clinging to all she has and lives in fear, the other mourns but uses her life as a testament  of love.

We follow both women's life story. A story that is very emotional and sad oozes a great loss. I was in tears.






Friday, 2 August 2019

Review of "Paramedic to the Prince: An American Paramedic's Account of Life Inside the Mysterious World of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia"

The American EMS who worked in Saudi for about 10 years tells his memoirs. The story might jump from one thing to the other but it gives us a glimpse of that hidden world.

Not the best writing style but an interesting subject. And it makes the culture class evident. How he and his friends would dive in a wetsuit not caring how that looked and on the other hand men then masturbating. How the prince - later king - he works for is nice to his employees and how other people just crap in an operating room expecting others to clean it. Bear in mind it describes the situation of 15 years ago and the aftershocks of 9/11.








 

Indian Raj Romance novels: Review of "A Jasmin Wife" by Jane Coverdale

A Jasmine Wife was the name for a British young woman in her full bloom who would follow her husband to India and then in a short time whiter away.

But Sara Archer is not new to India when she comes to join her husband there at the beginning of the 20th century. She was born in India but lost at a young age both parents and was raised in a rather loveless household of a paternal aunt and uncle. When a bachelor seems to be interested in her and who moreover is stationed in India she falls head of heels for him. But is it him or India she is in love with? In his case it seems he sees marriage more as advantages to his career.

Upon arrival in India she barges into half French - half Indian Ravi Sabran who keeps shocking the circles of polite British society in Madras by living in sin with the wife of an Indian Maharaja who ran from her husband and being filthy rich and a bit of a bandit and who keeps ignoring the fact that the British matrons cannot overlook his Indian ancestry.

The British in Madras are more old fashioned and stuck in the Victorian times as what she experienced in England and are showing not the best characters. For instance when the local Maharadja visits they all try to get jewels off him by praising them.

In India Sara starts looking for her own past and information about her own parents and by doing this meets Ravi again.

We see a ugly naive countrygirl slowly develop in a  in dependant beautiful woman.

The novel digs into the prejudice of those days. It has also a hint of mr Collins and Lady Catherine de Bourgh from "Pride and Prejudice" due to the fact that Charles cannot stop praising the local leading lady in the British circle. That element is often very funny.

It is a light romance novel that guarantees a day of pleasant reading. And right from the start you expect who will end up with whom but that is always the case with this kind of novels.








Friday, 19 July 2019

Review of "Blood On The Stone" by Jake Lynch - Oxford during Charles II comes to life during a murder investigation

March 1681. Oxford is hosting the English Parliament and King Charles the Second with his whole court. The country is in an uproar over the supposed Papist Plot and the king seems too lenient towards his Catholic brother according to some. Do keep in mind that a few generations ago Bloody Mary burned the protestants.

In this powder keg that is about to explode a Member of Parliament is found stabbed to death and Luke Standys, Chief Officer of the Oxford Bailiffs and brother of one of the king's officers has to solve the case and diffuse the situation.

This is not an easy novel. It is full with British English period words. So if you are an American who cannot survive anything away from your own American English do not complain just skip. For all the people up for a challenge: I liked having to look things up with the online dictionary or Wikipedia. Yes English is not my mother language but nevertheless I am near native. The novel also paints an extensive background of the culture, the landmarks and the political situation in those days in Oxford. Not surprisingly because the novel is written by an academic from Oxford.

The novel made me feel like I timetravelled because it paints the situation so vividly. The writer also described Luke in detail. You really get to know him.

But all of this make it a novel that reads slowly. So if you were looking for just an easy who-done-it that you can finish in a few hours look elsewhere. If you are really interested in history you will like the novel.

A 5 stars out of 5 and the novel is very cheap on Amazon



AMAZON
March 1681. Oxford is hosting the English Parliament under the ‘merry monarch’, King Charles II. As politicians and their hangers-on converge on the divided city, an MP is found murdered, triggering tensions that threaten mayhem on the streets.
Luke Sandys, Chief Officer of the Oxford Bailiffs, must solve the crime and thwart the plot. On his side is the respect for evidence and logic he absorbed in his student days, as a follower of the new science. On the other, a group of political conspirators are stirring up sectarian hatreds in their scheme to overthrow the Crown.
Struggling to protect all he holds dear, Luke leans heavily on his cavalry officer brother, his friends, and his faithful deputy, Robshaw. But he has a secret, which may be clouding his judgement. At the moment of truth, will he choose love or duty?

Preview / Review of "The Woman in the Veil" by Laura Joh Rowland - a detective novel set in Victorian era London

London, June 1890. Just after the death of Prince Albert and the infamous Ripper case. Sarah Bain, a photographer, and her friends homosexual Lord Hugh Staunton and former street urchin Mick O'Reilly are crime scene reporters for the Daily World newspaper who do a bit of sleuthing on the side.

One night they are called to the bank of the Thames where the body of a naked woman is found by a whore and her punter. On close examination however Sarah discovers that the woman is still alive and she is rushed to hospital. But with a disfigured face and amnesia the next question is her identity and who has left her for dead. Sarah's fiancé Detective Sergeant Barrett is given the case to solve.

But are the people claiming to know her speaking the truth? Is Sleeping Beauty really unaware of who she is?

On the background there is also the mystery in Sarah's own life.

The central theme of the novel is the (lack of) love of parents and the yearning of children for love.

The story is entertaining and has a good plot. The characters however are not that much fleshed out. It keeps pace and you can finish it in a day or two.

4 stars out of 5. This is an ARC review

Pub Date

Thursday, 18 July 2019

Review of "In the Shadow of the Storm" by Anna Belfrage - a romantic adventure of two people trying to survive a revolt in medieval England

England around 1321: King Edward the Second is a weak king who is heavily influenced by male favourites. The current favourite is Hugh Despenser the Younger and the barons of the realm despise the man.

In those days England had a feudal system with the king as the big boss and under him and sworn loyal to him the higher nobility. Under those lords and loyal to them there were knights who would own a few manors that were like large farms and who served like officers in the army of the lords. In case of war these knights would bring their men-at-arms to act as soldiers. This whole system was tied together by sworn allegiances of the lower ranked to the one a step higher on the ladder.

Kit and her mother lived on such a manor in a very rural area. Just after the death of her mother she is snatched from home and forced to marry a knight who was chosen by his lord to marry his mistress. That mistress turns out to be Kit's legitimate half-sister (she finds out a knight is her true father) and her double ganger who has run away with a lover. The wife of her father wants to keep that a secret and threatens Kit to kill her and her tenants if she does not do as she is told end pretends to be her half-sister.

So far the book reads like a romance novel. But then it turns into an action adventure.

Luckily for Kit the man she is forced to marry is a very nice person and also good to look at. But their happiness is threatened by what now is called the Despenser War. Her husband's lord and the one who saved him as a young boy from harm plans to lead a rebellion against the king and although Kit's husband thinks that is wrong he is pledged to follow his lord.

When I was a few pages in I realised I had read the book a few years ago but remembered it to be a very good story so read it again. As far as I can see it is also historically correct and it sheds a light on a part of English history I was not familiar with.. I can certainly recommend it.

5 stars out of 5




AMAZON: 
Adam de Guirande owes his lord, Roger Mortimer, much more than loyalty. He owes Lord Roger for his life and all his worldly goods, he owes him for his beautiful wife – even if Kit is not quite the woman Lord Roger thinks she is. So when Lord Roger rises in rebellion against the king, Adam has no choice but to ride with him – no matter what the ultimate cost may be.

England in 1321 is a confusing place. Edward II has been forced by his barons to exile his favourite, Hugh Despenser. The barons, led by the powerful Thomas of Lancaster, Roger Mortimer and Humphrey de Bohun, have reasons to believe they have finally tamed the king. But Edward is not about to take things lying down...

Adam fears his lord has over-reached, but Adam has other matters to concern him, first and foremost his new wife, Katherine de Monmouth. His bride comes surrounded by rumours concerning her and Lord Roger, and he hates it when his brother snickers and whispers of used goods.

Kit has the misfortune of being a perfect double of Katherine de Monmouth – which is why she finds herself coerced into wedding a man under a false name.

Domestic matters become irrelevant when the king sets out to punish his rebellious barons. The Welsh Marches explode into war, and soon Lord Roger and his men are fighting for their very lives. When hope splutters and dies, when death seems inevitable, it falls to Kit to save her man – if she can.

In the Shadow of the Storm is the first in Anna Belfrage’s new series, The King’s Greatest Enemy, the story of a man torn apart by his loyalties to his lord, his king, and his wife.


Monday, 10 June 2019

Review of "Six Women" by Victoria Cross

This is a book written in 1906 but the language is still very modern. However one can see how much is changed in a century by how women are regarded and treated. In the days the novel was published the content would have been regarded as highly scandalous. Not because of erotic behaviour described - it is not -  but it is hinted at and in those days your knickers were your "unmentionables" to paint a picture . But mostly because all six women are in a love affair with a man of a different race or religion.

Annie Sophie Cory (1 October 1868 – 2 August 1952) was a British author of popular, racy, exotic New Woman novels under the pseudonyms Victoria Cross(e), Vivian Cory and V.C. Griffin.
Cory's stories often detail behaviours and desires unusual in the Victorian period such as female cross-dressing, unbridled and unashamed sexual desire, longing for and fear of interracial sexual relationships, and questioning of traditional heterosexual gender roles for men and women. (Source Wikipedia)

When you read this article  https://victorianfictionresearchguides.org/victoria-cross/ she seemed to have been a weird person especially for those days and age. 

This book is a collection of short stories. Some are quite good - the first and the last - the rest is in my opinion a lot less. As the book is free you might just want to try it out of curiosity and because the first story is interesting. In that story an Englishman is told during his wedding night by his new wife that she wedded him for the position and that she does not want any sexual relationship. He accepts a job in India and they do not see each other in the next 20 years. But when he falls in love with an Indian dancing girl his wife goes on the warpath.


Preview of "Three remain" by R.A. Andrade

This science fiction novel had me on the tip of my toes or maybe rather on the edge of my seat and had me going to bed too late. It is a very entertaining read and suspense keeps very high throughout the whole story.

One morning when a lawyer goes to work he finds a woman who was in a carcrash. When they go into town they notice that there is no one around and phones, internet and electricity are not working. The only person they meet is a young girl and there is a huge fog bank blocking the road. Then things get dangerous.

To tell more would spoil your fun but if you like Steven King's novels this is one for you.

An additional plus of this story is that there is a lot of good humour in it although there were situations the teenager grated on my nerves.

This was a preview ARC from Netgalley. The novel will be published 23rd of September 2019.

Comparing two sheikh romances: the friendship turns into love-type and the hanky panky-type

With hotty Sheikh Hamdan from Dubai now married his millions of female instagram followers have to look elsewhere to dream.











And that can be done with the new book by Leslie North that I was asked to review for Netgalley.

The Sheikh's Surprise Heir


I have seen other planecrashes with sheikhs on Amazon but this kind of novellas guarantee a relaxed read on an afternoon waiting for a plane, on the beach or with a cold in bed.

In this story the female heroine is working as a stewardess with a private plane company. One day the client is a Middle Eastern prince who definitely was born with too many silver spoons in his mouth. The guy is annoying in extremis. but is also the only one aboard who bothers saving her after the plane has crash landed. While waiting for his bodyguards to return with help - why do you need them when you can send them all away while you wait with a wounded woman? - she is not that hurt that they cannot play a game of "can we connect on a non-spiritual  level by inserting this part of mine into yours?" Their meeting ends very fruitful with a lot of money and a surprise a bit further on the road as hey why would you use a condom as there is no HIV is there in fairyland. Years later he is the king and they meet again.

A well written easy romance story that has no pitfalls.You do have to like the concept of bed before love though.

A 3 stars out of 5

For sale her on Amazon https://amzn.to/2KDEYGs



To do some comparing I borrowed the one below with my Kindle Unlimited

The Sheikh's Tempted Protectress by Holly Rayner

The Amazon blurb states: "Beth Coolidge has a new assignment: as personal bodyguard to the notoriously hedonistic playboy Sheikh Osman Al-Haddeni, the ex-navy veteran knows she has her work cut out, but she never thought it’d be this tough. The party-loving Sheikh seems to want to regard her more as a pretty-faced status symbol, than a legitimate protector of his life."

Beth recently left the navy and still unemployed when a former boyfriend suggests a stint as the bodygueard of a sheikh. At first she is appalled by the world of glitter but when she gets to know her boss under all the trappings he is a real nice guy who spends days with her in hiding playing boardgames and cooking. It seems a lot more natural that these people fall in love and the novel is not about sex at all. There is also an amount of thriller/suspense in the story as somehow people want him dead.

In this range of novellas a 4 star out of 5.


For sale on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2WQUKEz





Sunday, 9 June 2019

Sunday's free books: A mystery by Edie Claire "Never buried"

First in the USA-Today and Kindle Top Ten bestselling Leigh Koslow Mystery Series! Advertising copywriter Leigh Koslow doesn't pack heat--just a few extra pounds. And she doesn't go looking for trouble. When she moved into her cousin Cara's refurbished Victorian house, she wasn't planning on discovering a corpse--certainly not one that had been embalmed ten years before.

 But as anyone in the small Pittsburgh borough of Avalon could tell her, her cousin's house has a history attached. A history dating back to two mysterious deaths in the summer of 1949.
Someone wants Leigh and Cara out of the house--someone who has something to hide. But that someone doesn't know Leigh's impetuous cousin, and when Cara digs her heels in, Leigh looks to her old college chum, local policewoman Maura Polanski, for help. But the answers the trio find only point to more questions. Were the scandalous deaths of fifty years ago really an accident and a suicide? Or were they murder?
The nearer the women get to the truth, the more desperate someone becomes. Because some secrets are better off kept. Especially when they hit close to home!
"A thoroughly delightful debut. Bright, breezy, and witty. I couldn't put it down."--Tamar Myers
Originally published in mass market paperback by NAL/Penguin, Putnam, Inc. in 1999. Large-Print Edition published by Thorndike, 2002.


For Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004GKNLMY?tag=fbsyemailwwm-20


For KOBO: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/never-buried


Saturday, 8 June 2019

Review of "Occupation secret" by Mario Reading - an SS officer and a French farmgirl bond over music

After having survived the horror of the Eastern Front German SS commander Count Maximilian von Aschau is transferred to rural France where he and his men have to occupy a village and be ready to repel an invasion when it will come. En route to the small town battle hardened but still a devout catholic 28-old Max sees a young woman shelter from the rain in a small roadside chapel. He offers her a lift but the soaked girl refuses.

Lucie Léré.is a poor farmgirl with no education who never has been far away from home and is courted by a neighbour boy who was disfigured during the fighting when Germany invaded France. Her mother is supposed to send lunch to the German SS commander and sees an opportunity to earn an extra franc by pushing her daughter towards the lonely officer.

The two enemies who are worlds apart however bond over their mutual love for music. Danger however lurks around the corner.

This could be the script for a soppy romance story but it is written by a man and a bestselling author and although it is about the love affair between the two enemies it only occasionally mentions sex and deals with a lot more than just them. We also witness one of the biggest SS warcrimes and the violent ways of the Maquis and of civilians who have an account to settle.

There was one thing lacking in my opinion. The part of the Eastern Front depicts the Soviets as cruel adversaries - and they were - but the SS were no choirboys either and that is not that much mentioned. It is reasoned that Max had to join the SS to keep the Nazies away from their country estate as their neighbour was forced out of his due to his lack of support of the regime (I know a real case where they planned a motorway around a castle as a way of revenge) but I wonder if nobility would not have opted for a more traditional role in the Wehrmacht.

The story is a very good story. Although towards the end it feels a bit rushed (like the massacre at
the ruins of Oradour sur Glane

This was the real commander in that area
Oradour sur Glane  but maybe that feels like that to me as I have visited the site) and I would have liked the ending to have happened a bit later. A good epilogue would have been interesting. I wondered if that was due to the fact that this was a posthumous novel.

The cover however feels wrong. Max is described as a tall and thin guy with light blonde hair. The man on the cover is none of that. He also seems to wear the surcoat of the Wehrmacht. Was the SS uniform not black? And the woman on the cover looks like a lady while in the story Lucie is very young, very short and wearing poor cloths. What is worse is that it looks like the cover of another book with the same kind of plot but the more soppy variety and  at first I thought that book had been republished. So I would advice to change it so their age difference will be more clear and he will look more "scary" because that is what he is to the people who do not know him well.


Review: "The count of Monte Christo" as a manga

I remember reading the story as a child in the comic book Donald Duck but not as a comic but as a adaptation summarizing it by three pages each week. I was wondering if I had read the original novel as well. Probably. I do remember seeing a movie. So I knew the story.

The fun for me in reading this adaptation was that it was the first manga I ever read and very much liked the way the creative team explained how to read a mango but even better told about their decisions in adapting a classic novel to a Japanese style of comic book. How she scanned society pages looking for a man who could be the inspiration to the count and such.

Manga is not my favourite style of comic book though. The way people are pictured is too childish for my taste. But for an experiment I really liked this well researched and imagined version of the classical tale. It is also a great way of introducing literature to people who will not be enthusiastic about the more old fashioned, many pages original. And remember I was introduced to this great story by a comic book too.

A four stars out of 5

This book is published the 6th of June 2019






Thursday, 23 May 2019

Preview of "Destiny's tide" by J.D. Davies: a town disappearing beneath the waves and the disturbing life in Henry the 8's England

16th century England: Dunwich is a town in decline - figuratively and literally. Once a town that rivalled London strong winter storms at the beginning of the small Ice Age have blocked the harbour by dumping shingle and the changing sea current is now eating away the cliffs the town is built on. Of the many prosperous churches several have already crumbled and vanished under the waves. But with King Harry dissolving the monasteries the income from the Iceland Fisheries has also disappeared. With his father in the leper hospital and his wife dead Jack Stannard has to manage their shipping industry and surviving not only Big Harry's wars in Scotland and France but also scheming neighbouring villages. 

I have to admit it took me a very long time to start to identify with the main characters in the story. But what the book makes so very interesting is that it feels like we as a reader time travel. The writer states that he has been teaching Tudor history for many years and that shows in all the details. 

This is a story not of mighty kings but of the civilians: the greyfriar who looses his livelihood as a monk and is forced to pick up his sword as a soldier once again, the beggar who must have once been educated and prosperous but now sits begging in the street blind, the child who thinks her new stepmother must be a witch because as old as she is (I believe 26) she still has all her teeth.

It also illustrates the big changes that happened in those days. Ships are at first fighting with arrows and boarders but later on the first cannon is introduced. While the mighty orders like the Benedictines were given a pension, later on the Franciscans were just evicted what meant old monks died in the gutter and not only abbeys but also schools and hospitals were closed. The common folks saw their church rituals changed bit by bit like removing dooms and introducing English liturgy. That close look of day to day life in that era makes this novel so interesting. 

And the more I read about Henry the 8th the more I think he was a sociopath. Like how he executed someone for treason in such a gruesome way that the father of that person who was wrongly convicted lost his mind.



Publishing date June 27th 2019

A roadtrip through Afghanistan and Iran in 1978 lead to a detective story in 2007: Review of "Vanished" by N.V. Baker



Cassie is travelling with her boyfriend from Bangkok to Afghanistan in 1978. En route she exchanges letters with a Phd student in the States who is a few years older than she is. In Kabul they meet an American and a Canadian, both young men who also plan to go to Iran. (Then called Persia and not speaking Arabic - the only slips I noticed).

Thirty years later the pen pal is a professor and rediscovers those letter while packing his office to move buildings. He had till then always assumed she ended her friendship with him but on the brink of a divorce he finds out someone had done that for him. Curious he googles her and finds out she vanished. (And we are still reading her adventures in 1978 and are none the wiser but are looking out for clues).

The book is an interesting roadstory - I even told my Afghan refugee students the words in Dari I learned from it. The other storyline is about a middle aged scientist who turns detective.

Can really recommend it.






Tuesday, 30 April 2019

Review of "The Fragrant Concubine" by Melissa Addey - an Uygur legend and a conflicting Chinese one.

The novel is based on a Chinese and an Uygur legend from the days that China invaded the Uygur region. Even today we see people applying from asylum blaming to be oppressed by the now communists Chinese government but in those days it was also a battle of beliefs where a Buddhist empire conquered a Muslim principality.


Lets start with a look at Wikipedia:


Fragrant Concubine

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


Khoja Iparhan/Fatimah binti Ali Khojam
和卓.伊帕爾罕
Consort Rong dressed in Manchu Clothes.JPG
Portrait of the Fragrant Concubine by Giuseppe Castiglione
Born11 October 1734
Died24 May 1788 (aged 53)
SpouseQianlong Emperor
HouseXojam (by birth)
Aisin Gioro (by marriage)
The Fragrant Concubine (Chinese: 香妃; pinyin: Xiāng Fēi; Uyghur: ئىپارخان‎ / Iparxan / Ипархан) is a figure in Chinese legend who was taken as a consort by the Qianlong Emperor of the Qing dynasty in the 18th century. Although the stories about her are believed to be mythical, they may have been based on an actual concubine from western China who entered the imperial harem in 1760 and received the title "Imperial Consort Rong" (容妃; Róng Fēi). Han Chinese and Uyghur tellings of the legend of the Fragrant Concubine diverge greatly, and her experience represents a powerful symbol for both figures. The story became greatly popular during the early 20th century and has since been adapted into several plays, films, and books.

Chinese legend

Although accounts vary as to some details, the basic story among Han Chinese recounts the discovery by the Qianlong Emperor of a Uyghur woman named Iparhan ("Musky Woman"), the granddaughter of Afaq Khoja, a local leader in the oasis city of Kashgar. Even more remarkable than her beauty was the scent her body naturally produced; captivated, the emperor sought her as an Imperial Consort for his harem. She was given as a gift to the emperor and carefully escorted all the way to the imperial palace in Beijing, washing every day along the road in camel's milk to preserve her mysterious fragrance.
Upon her arrival at the imperial palace, the Fragrant Concubine was given a garden and a luxurious room as a sign of the Qianlong Emperor's devotion. Homesick and distraught, she remained disconsolate as the emperor made ever-increasing efforts to recreate her distant village, building her a mosque, miniature oasis, and bazaar outside her windows in an effort to bring her happiness. Finally she relented and came to love him when he sent messengers to Kashgar to return with a jujube tree bearing golden fruit, and the Fragrant Concubine became the emperor's cherished consort until her death. An enduring symbol of national unity and reconciliation, her body was brought back to her home of Kashgar, where she is now entombed, in a procession of 120 bearers in a journey that took over three years.

Uyghur legend

Contemporary Uyghur renditions of the legend are considerably less romantic. She was the child of the ruler of the Yarkent Khanate and her name was Nur Ela Nurhan.[1] Taken away to the imperial palace in Beijing by the Qianlong Emperor, Iparhan arms herself with daggers up her sleeves, on guard against the hated advances of the emperor, until finally she was poisoned.[2]

Apak Khoja and Fragrant Concubine Tomb

Imperial Consort Rong's tomb in the Eastern Qing tombs
The Afaq Khoja Mausoleum (mazar) located outside Kashgar was built in 1640 and, in addition to encompassing a larger complex that includes a functioning mosque and madrasa, houses the coffins of five generations of the Afak Khoja family, including what is purported to be the body of the Fragrant Concubine. In fact, the real Imperial Consort Rong died of illness on 24 May 1788 and was buried in an imperial tomb in Beijing; the legend of the Fragrant Concubine first became closely associated with the Kashgar tomb in the late 19th century, and the connection has since been officially established and endorsed through a proliferation of signs and guided tours.[citation needed]

Source Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fragrant_Concubine

The Novel "The Fragrant concubine" by Melissa Addey

Writer Melissa Addey wondered how both legends could be so vastly different even when you consider the political implications of the era. She wondered if there could be a version in which both are true.

In the story Iparhan is a Muslim princess who sees her country invaded by the Chinese on the eve of her wedding and in no time she looses her home and her parents. Longing to take revenge on the emperor she hopes to swap places with a cousin who is sent to the Chinese court as a concubine for the emperor. But when that is no longer possible she captures a beggar girl who looks remarkably like her.

Someone once said that revenge is a double-edged sword. Her drive for revenge turns Iparhan into a crazy woman, I think, who destroys everyone who cares for her, and becomes a ruthless killer.

The girl she captures is dead poor and in the beginning does not object that much to the idea of a life in luxury but then is more and more scared by the madwoman.

Things get really complicated when Hidligh is at court and realises she loves the emperor and made good friends and wants to do everything to keep them save but on the other hand will lose her own life if it ever comes clear she was send to the palace to spy. The result is a very thrilling tale with dangers lurking everywhere.

I am not so familiar with Chinese history so the whole setting was intriguing as well. The Forbidden City is nothing like a Middle Eastern harem: all the concubines have their own palaces and most of the time the emperor will come to have dinner there and some horizontal sport. The women are also less secluded. What sounded so alien to me was that one's name changed with promotions and the emperor was not mentioned by his name after he had become emperor.

Life could be tragic or blissful depending on what the women wanted: some are completely forgotten by the emperor and really lonely and miserable others share a happy lesbian life glad he is not paying them any attention. Others cling to power because they want their child to be the next emperor. Or like the Empress and Hidligh are in love with the man but that is not necessary mutual.

In the end the writer composed the solution for both legends.

I really liked the novel. The story is thrilling and nerve-racking and the cultural setting is interesting.

A 5 stars out of 5.